Chubby Sticks

Clinique released these moisturising lip balm sticks over the summer – but let’s be honest unless you ie. me have very dry lips you can save the moisturising stuff till winter. So here goes…

I think they are a really good idea (they are not the only ones available Jemma Kidd also does one) and I love the instant shiny and shimmery effect and I love that they give some colour but without the stickiness of a gloss.

It is really easy to apply, you can just slick it over without a mirror easy peasy, and therefore it’s quite a good one to keep in your bag for a quick top up. Unfortunately top ups are very necessary because they aren’t very long lasting. They normally fade about 45 minutes after application. The moisturising effect also doesn’t really last that long either and personally if I don’t reapply it leaves my lips very dry.

Whole Lotta Honey

 

I didn’t think I would like this shade very much but its actually really warm and easy to wear.

 

 

 

Mega Melon

This is a really nice tone somewhere between pink and honey, this is the shade that would suit most skin tones, so if in doubt head for Mega Melon.

 

 

Super Strawberry

Sorry this is slightly different, i had to shoot it under artificial light. This is my least favourite, it’s a nice colour but not very flattering, it’s hard to tell from this picture but it’s a strong pink/red however it is quite cold and i’ve noticed this one doesn’t last as long as the others.

 

Whoppin’ Watermelon

I really like this shade, I wouldn’t normally wear something this pale, not least because I have quite dark lips and if a pale lipstick starts to come off a bit I look like i’ve been trying to cover up vampiric tendencies. The great thing about chubby sticks is that whilst they do come off quite easily they gradually fade to sheer so no worries.

 

The chubby sticks are £15.00 each and they were doing sets of four minis but I think those might have been a Christmas exclusive. They are fun and I think the colours are very wearable, although not so good for darker skin tones, but if you want something that is a very good moisturise you are much better off with the Superbalm Moisturising Gloss – £13.50

One comment

  1. I have been lusting after these for a while, they’re lovely and natural looking!

Leave a Reply

