Concealers

MAC Studio Finish – £13.50 NW15 

This is the concealer that I use everyday on any spots and sometimes under my eyes. MAC do a great range of shades and although I was concerned that this one would be too dark for me, I am practically albino, when applied to my face it comes out lighter than my palest foundation.

I find it to be very long-lasting under the eyes, with a nice non-creasy finish. It’s not bad on blemishes but not quite as long lasting and can (as with most concealers) dry spots a bit if worn all day. I always put a dot of moisturiser on a spot before I conceal it, which I find very effective in helping the concealer go on smoothly and not dry out through the day.

Clinique Airbrush Concealer – £16.00 Fair

This is great for dark circles as it is quite reflective and a very light formulation which is a bit of a godsend when you are tired. This is not suitable for blemishes as it doesn’t provide that level of coverage and is far more long-lasting under the eyes than on spots.

Bobbi Brown Creamy Concealer – £17.00 Porcelain

As you might deduce from the name the consistency of this is really thicky, almost a little gloopy, I don’t really enjoy putting it on my face. It is designed for the under-eye area but personally I find it way too thick under my eyes. It feels heavy and has a really visible finish. However, it is not bad for blemishes, it gives very good coverage, comes in a good varitey of shades and is lasts fairly well. All in all though, I don’t think it’s worth the money.

 

17 – Hide Away Corrector Cream – £3.99 Fair

Firstly, a much more attractive price. I think it’s very effective under the eyes, it gives good coverage and I also sometimes use it on redness around my nose, as it has a nice matte finish. I don’t tend to use it on spots because it is slightly pink tones and therefore isn’t ideal for reducing redness and it only comes in two colours, fair and medium so unfortunately, it’s a no go for darker skin.

Vichy Dermablend – Corrective Foundation – £15.50 Opal, 15

I have been meaning to write about this for absolutely ages, I’ve had it for months and it’s a pretty unique product because it will cover anything. Don’t believe me? Check this out. Those guys at dermablend really do know what they’re doing.

I have this product on their lightest colour – Opal – but it’s not quite light enough and therefore I don’t use it that often. They do have a slightly greater colour range in their Corrective Stick which I hope to try in Porcelain.

I do not recommend this as a foundation, it is far too thick and it really clings to any dryness in the skin. I use it as a concealer on blemishes and redness , which I find quite effective, the coverage is good and it’s pretty easy to blend with other foundations, I like the matte finish but I wouldn’t buy another tube of it because it’s not a foundation and it’s not really designed as a concealer.

If you want to see more of their products in action against spots check out this video.

Stay Away From: Benefit Erase Paste, a gloopy consistency like the Bobbi Brown, it comes on three colours but they are all very similar and quite pinky/orangey. Naat good for concealing. Worst of all like many of Benefit’s skin products Erase Paste contains Titanium Dioxide which makes a lot of people break out.

My Pick: MAC studio finish, with 17 coming in a respectable second place

Next on my List: Collection 2000 Lasting Perfection Concealer, I hear nothing but good things about this product and at £4.19 that is definitely worth a try.

3 comments

  1. Great post!! Good to see how a load of concealers really perform!

    I’ve reviewed the Collection 2000 concealer and have it for myself and my make up kit for class, it really is awesome for the price!

Leave a Reply

